Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation (Charlie Joe Jackson Series #3) (Paperback)

Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation (Charlie Joe Jackson Series #3) Cover Image
By Tommy Greenwald, JP Coovert (Illustrator)
$7.99
Usually Ships in 5-7 Days

Description


In this middle-grade novel, a reluctant reader faces a his worst fear: academic summer camp.

Despite all attempts to avoid reading and extra work, Charlie Joe Jackson finds himself in a terrible dream he can't wake up from: Camp Rituhbukkee (pronounced "read-a-bookie")—a place filled with grammar workshops, Read-a-Ramas, and kids who actually like reading. But Charlie Joe is determined to convince the entire camp to hate reading and writing—one genius at a time.

Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation by Tommy Greenwald is another fun installment in the life of a reluctant reader.

Praise for Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation:

“This book is so fast-paced and funny that even reluctant readers like Charlie Joe claims to be should find themselves enjoying reading, after all.” -Claudia Mills, Children's Literature

“If they're not convinced, kids with an aversion to books still have a character they can relate to. An ideal choice for summer reading lists.” -School Library Journal

“Fans of Joey Pigza and Big Nate will find a lot to love here. . . A series that improves with each offering.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Full of laugh-out-loud humor. . . . A great read.” –Booklist

Don't miss any great books by Tommy Greenwald:
Pete Milano’s Guide to Being a Movie Star
Katie Friedman Gives Up Texting! (And Lives to Tell About It.)
Jack Strong Takes a Stand
The Charlie Joe Jackson Series:
Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Not Reading
Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Extra Credit
Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Summer Vacation
Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Making Money
Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Planet Girl
Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Not Growing Up

About the Author


Tommy Greenwald has enjoyed reading all his life, which is why he's appalled that his kids Charlie, Joe and Jack, would prefer getting a dental check-up to checking out a book. After years of pleading, threatening, and bribing, Tommy finally decided the only way to get his kids to read was to write a book about how to get out of reading. The result was Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading. And they read it! (So they say.) The Executive Creative Director at SPOTCO, an entertainment advertising agency in New York City, Tommy lives in Connecticut with his wife, Cathy; his non-reading sons, Charlie, Joe and Jack; and his dogs, Moose and Coco.

JP Coovert lives in Cincinnati, Ohio where he uses his time making as much rad artwork as possible. On the side, he co-runs a record and comic label called One Percent Press. He's written and drawn almost 50 comics, including his ongoing series, Simple Routines. JP Wants to create cool stuff forever, like illustrating every animal on the planet, creating a library full of kids books, and painting a mural on the moon!

Praise For…


Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation:

“This book is so fast-paced and funny that even reluctant readers like Charlie Joe claims to be should find themselves enjoying reading, after all.” -Claudia Mills, Children's Literature

“If they're not convinced, kids with an aversion to books still have a character they can relate to. An ideal choice for summer reading lists.” -School Library Journal

“Fans of Joey Pigza and Big Nate will find a lot to love here. . . A series that improves with each offering.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A great read for reluctant readers or readers just looking for a little harmless fun.” —Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250039996
ISBN-10: 1250039991
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Charlie Joe Jackson Series