Unbreakable: The Spies Who Cracked the Nazis' Secret Code (Hardcover)

Website Orders

Website Orders will be delayed until after June 22. 

Please call the book shop (504.895.2266) if you have a book you were planning to order for in-store pick up.  They will be able to take your order. 

Thank You,

The Garden District Book Shop

______________________________________________________________________

Unbreakable: The Spies Who Cracked the Nazis' Secret Code By Rebecca E. F. Barone Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 5-7 Days

Description


Unbreakable is the edge-of-your seat true story of the codebreakers, spies, and navy fighters who helped defeat the Nazis and turned the tide of World War IIperfect for fans of The Imitation Game, Alan Gratz, and Jennifer Nielsen.

"A thrilling adventure of intrigue and daring worthy of the best James Bond stories." —James Ponti, New York Times best-selling author of City Spies

As the Germans waged a brutal war across Europe, details of every Nazi plan, every attack, every troop movement were sent over radio. But to the Allied troops listening in—and they were always listening—the crucial messages sounded like gibberish. The communications were encoded with a powerful cipher, making all information utterly inaccessible . . . unless you could unlock the key to the secret code behind the German’s powerful Enigma machine.

Complete with more than sixty historical photos, Unbreakable tells the true story of one of the most dangerous war-time codebreaking efforts ever. While Hitler marched his troops across newly conquered lands and deadly “wolfpacks” of German U-Boats prowled the open seas, a team of codebreakers, spies, and navy men raced against the clock to uncover the secrets that hid German messages in plain sight. Victory—or defeat—in World War II would hinge on their desperate attempts to crack the code. Perfect for fans of Bomb, The Boys Who Challenged Hitler, and The Nazi Hunters.

About the Author


Rebecca E.F. Barone is an engineer and author. She has worked on technical projects as diverse as injury analysis for the NFL and engine calibration for hybrid cars. Realizing her love of books in addition to numbers, she now describes the world with words rather than equations. Her first two books, Race to the Bottom of the Earth: Surviving Antarctica and Unbreakable: The Spies Who Cracked the Nazis’ Secret Code, received a combined nine starred reviews and were featured on numerous “Best of” lists. She lives in Ohio with her family. www.rebeccaefbarone.com

Praise For…


A Booklist Best Book of the Year
A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year

An Amazon Best Book of the Year

"A thrilling adventure of intrigue and daring worthy of the best James Bond stories and made all the better because it’s completely true. A common refrain throughout the story is, 'Never repeat something you want kept secret.' So let me say twice, to ensure that word gets out, 'Read this book. Read this book.'" —James Ponti, New York Times best-selling author of City Spies

*
"A riveting true-life adventure story combining brains, courage, and heart." —Kirkus, starred review

* "Engagingly told as a grim race against time, deeply researched, and with ample space for the play of differing perspectives and outsized personalities . . . highly recommended." —School Library Journal, starred review

* "
Suspenseful writing. . . Highly recommended." —Booklist, starred review

* "
A breathlessly told account of clandestine operations whose success contributed to the war’s end." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Barone delivers another impressive feat of narrative nonfiction storytelling." —Horn Book Magazine, starred review

“A taut, suspenseful story. Here is a war that few people know, a race among brains with freedom at stake, brought vividly to life by.” —Phillip Hoose, author of the National Book Award winning and Newbery Honor book Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

"A captivating tale of perseverance and grit, Barone kept me on the edge of my seat, reading well into the night. I could not put it down. " —Beth McMullen, author of the Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls series and the Lola Benko, Treasure Hunter series


Praise for Race to the Bottom of the Earth:

FOUR starred reviews!

"I raced to the end of this book!" —Alan Gratz, New York Times–bestselling author of Refugee

"A nail-biting tale of adventure, tragedy, and superhuman determination." —Elizabeth Wein, #1 New York Times–bestselling author

"A huge treat for adventure story fans—not one, but two incredible races across the fearsome and fascinating Antarctic!" —Steve Sheinkin, New York Times–bestselling author

"Absorbing, compelling, and truly touching. Kids will love this book!" —Deborah Heiligman, YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award–winning author

"
A riveting tribute to epic tests of men against the elements." —Kirkus, starred review

"A compelling narrative focused on science and technology, embedded in a cluster of thrilling adventure stories . . . Highly ­recommended." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Readers will be caught up in the real-time action sequences." —Booklist, starred review

"Exemplary." —BCCB, starred review



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250814203
ISBN-10: 1250814200
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: October 25th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English