Calliope Kate and the Voice of the River (Hardcover)

Calliope Kate and the Voice of the River By Karen Konnerth Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
44 on hand, as of Sep 26 9:33pm
(HIS* (BISAC Category))

Description


Kate, a tall-tale heroine born on a Mississippi River shanty boat, frustrates her ma's attempts to tame her until she astounds everyone by defeating a hurricane through the blaring cacophony of a truly American instrument--the steamboat calliope. A fact-based tale in the tradition of Paul Bunyan, Kate's adventure invites the reader into a unique aspect of American history while bringing to life a strong girl who never gives up and finds her true voice.

About the Author


Karen Konnerth's extensive work as a professional puppeteer became the foundation for her specialization in arts-integrated teaching and visual storytelling. From Indonesia to Patagonia, South Africa to Oman, Italy to rural Louisiana, and everywhere in between, Konnerth shares and nurtures stories for and by children to cultivate a curious, imaginative, and open-eyed world. Konnerth lives just across the river from the New Orleans French Quarter and hears the steamboat calliopes every day.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781455626526
ISBN-10: 145562652X
Publisher: Pelican Publishing Company
Publication Date: May 9th, 2022
Pages: 32
Language: English