Walking on Trampolines (Paperback)

Walking on Trampolines Cover Image
$17.60
Email or call for price.

Description


Praised as “a tender exploration of friendship, families, and first love” (Liane Moriarty, New York Times bestselling author of The Husband’s Secret), this coming-of-age novel from bestselling author Frances Whiting is equal parts heartwarming, accessible, and thought provoking.

“Tallulah de Longland,” she said slowly, letting all the Ls in my name loll about lazily in her mouth before passing judgment. “That,” she announced, “is a serious glamorgeous name.”

From the day Annabelle Andrews sashays into her classroom, Tallulah ‘Lulu’ de Longland is bewitched: by Annabelle, by her family, and by their sprawling, crumbling house tumbling down to the river.

Their unlikely friendship intensifies through a secret language where they share confidences about their unusual mothers, first loves, and growing up in the small coastal town of Juniper Bay. But the euphoria of youth rarely lasts, and the implosion that destroys their friendship leaves lasting scars and a legacy of self-doubt that haunts Lulu into adulthood.

Years later, Lulu is presented with a choice: remain the perpetual good girl who misses out, or finally step out from the shadows and do something extraordinary. And possibly unforgivable…

It’s not how far you fall, but how high you bounce.

About the Author


Frances Whiting is one of Australia’s best known and most popular writers. A senior feature writer for Queensland’s premier weekend magazine, Q Weekend in the Courier Mail, Frances is also a much loved columnist for the Sunday Mail, and other Sunday newspapers around Australia, with her weekly column now in its nineteenth year. Two bestselling collections of her columns have been published in Australia: Oh to Be a Marching Girl (2003), and That’s a Home Run, Tiger! (2006). Frances lives in Brisbane, Queensland with her husband and two children.

Praise For…


“A tender exploration of friendship, families, and first love.”
— Liane Moriarty, New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies and The Husband's Secret

"Tender, madcap, and ultimately bittersweet, Walking on Trampolines chronicles the delightfully zigzag journey of a late bloomer who discovers her truest self in the most surprising ways."


— Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Looking for Me and Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

“Whiting has crafted a compelling and emotional journey… Fans of Liane Moriarty, Sarah Dessen, and Jennifer Close will adore Whiting’s heart wrenchingly honest and utterly earnest tale of female friendship, unbreakable bonds, and learning to let go.”
— Booklist, starred review

“Whiting’s novel, reminiscent of novels by Kristin Hannah,evokes all the emotions the best books should: joy, sadness and the truth that life is messy, yet full of love.”
— RT Book Reviews, Top Pick


Product Details
ISBN: 9781476780016
ISBN-10: 1476780013
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: February 3rd, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English