Prepped (Hardcover)

Prepped Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 17 6:43pm
(YAF* (BISAC Category))

Description


For fans of Jeff Zentner and Katie Henry comes a thrilling and funny debut about a teen raised in a doomsday community who plots her escape with the boy from the bunker next door.

Always be ready for the worst day of your life.

This is the mantra that Becca Aldaine has grown up with. Her family is part of a community of doomsday preppers, a neighborhood that prioritizes survivalist training over class trips or senior prom. They’re even arranging Becca’s marriage with Roy Kang, the only eligible boy in their community. Roy is a nice guy, but he’s so enthusiastic about prepping that Becca doesn’t have the heart to tell him she’s planning to leave as soon as she can earn a full ride to a college far, far away.

Then a devastating accident rocks Becca’s family and pushes the entire community, including Becca’s usually cynical little sister, deeper into the doomsday ideology. With her getaway plans thrown into jeopardy, the only person Becca can turn to is Roy, who reveals that he’s not nearly as clueless as he’s been pretending to be.

When Roy proposes they run away together, Becca will have to risk everything—including her heart—for a chance to hope for the best instead of planning for the worst.

About the Author


Bethany Mangle is the author of the Prepped and All the Right Reasons. She was born in Korea and raised in New Jersey in a household full of books, sheet music, and dog hair. She currently lives and writes in Mississippi. Visit her at BethanyMangle.com.

Praise For…


"It’s not the end of the world, but it’s high drama nonetheless." 
— Kirkus Reviews

* "Mangle’s evocative prose creates a vivid world...Fans of compelling realistic fiction like that of Courtney Summers will love Becca’s journey as they cheer for her to succeed against incredible odds."
— School Library Journal, starred review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534477506
ISBN-10: 1534477500
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: February 23rd, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English