Love Letters to the Dead (Kobo eBook)

Love Letters to the Dead By Ava Dellaira Cover Image
$9.99
Available Now

Description


“Dear Ava, I loved your book**.”** —Award-winning actress Emma Watson

Reminiscent of John Green, Kathleen Glasgow, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Ava Dellaira writes about grief, love, and family with a haunting and often heartbreaking beauty in this emotionally stirring, critically acclaimed debut novel.

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did.

Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more—though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her.

Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was—lovely and amazing and deeply flawed—can she begin to discover her own path.

Praise for Love Letters to the Dead:

**“**Love Letters to the Dead is more than a stunning debut. It is the announcement of a bold new literary voice.” —Stephen Chbosky, author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“A heart-wrenching celebration of love and friendship and family.” —Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Shout

**“**Love Letters to the Dead leaves an indelible mark.” —Gayle Forman, author of If I Stay

“Really, just go read it**.”** —The Guardian

“Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, get ready.” ―Booklist, starred review

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780374346683
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: March 31st, 2014
Language: